To be thankful

I’m not in the mood to write, I never am this early in the day. But maybe you don’t always have to wait for inspiration to say what you want to say. Maybe, sometimes, you just know.

This is the last day of 2012 and that warrants a post. It’s been a very significant year for me. I have made many changes in my life, and I myself have changed irrevocably. Out of everything I’ve learned my most important lesson is this; in order to be happy you must be grateful.

I was one of those people who never understood the idea of being happy by loving what you already have. I’m simply too goal-oriented; I believe that we should always at least try to get what we want. But I misunderstood the concept. It’s about taking the time to appreciate all the different ways that I am blessed. I realized that it isn’t enough to get what you want, if you fail to take the time to appreciate it. That is how you find happiness, it is, by focusing on the riches that belong to you, not on the few things you might want to add to your life in the future.

So here goes. I am thankful for my family and friends, I am thankful for my home, I am thankful for all my travels, I am thankful for everything out there that I have yet to see with my own eyes. I am thankful for living in the beautiful city of Cambridge, I am thankful for all the opportunities I have been given, for all the exciting adventures ahead. I am thankful for this wonderful white Christmas, I am thankful for the New Year that is upon us, which I am going to make the greatest year yet. I am thankful for the people who helped me on my journey to self-discovery, who helped me love and respect myself. I am thankful for being able to express myself through writing, I am thankful for you who is reading these words.

I am thankful for having so much to be thankful for. I hope you will take the time to give thanks as well. It is the best way to see how your life is actually quite good, if not practically perfect, at this exact moment, right now.

I wish you a Happy New Year and a Wonderful 2013!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

